You are here

Named Areas of College


  • The Bamborough Building - 1986
    Mr John Bamborough was Principal of Linacre College 1962 - 1988.
  • Ursula Hicks House - 1991
    Lady Ursula Hicks was a Fellow of the College; she and her husband, Sir John Hicks, generously left their house to Linacre.
  • The Edward & Asbjorg Abraham Building - 1995
    Sir Edward & Lady Abraham were Friends of Linacre College; the E P A Abraham Cephalosporin Fund was a leading donor for the Building. 
  • The Rhodes Building - 2001
    Enabled by the Rhodes Trust.
  • Peter Holloway House - 2002
    Mr Peter Holloway was Domestic Bursar of Linacre College 1962 – 1989; Dr Keith & Mrs Marjorie Lloyd generously enabled the purchase of this house, and named it for Peter. 
  • O C Tanner Building - 2006
    Named in 2006 (though built in 1886) to thank the O C Tanner Company, and the Rt Rev'd Carolyn Tanner Irish, for their enormous generosity to the College.
  • Griffiths Building - 2008
    Mr Rodney Griffiths, leading donor for the Building, is an Old Member (1971) and an Honorary Fellow of Linacre College.
  • Neil Fraser-Bell House - 2013
    Dr Graeme Fraser-Bell, Neil's son, is an Old Member (1985) and the leading donor for Neil Fraser-Bell House.
  • Tanner House - 2013
    Given to Linacre by The Rt Rev'd Carolyn Tanner Irish, Old Member (1964) & Honorary Fellow.


  • The Rom Harré Garden - 2010
    One major donor, and several others, made possible the naming of this new area of garden for a former Vice-Principal and Emeritus Fellow.
  • Garden Furniture - 2010 & 2011
    Details of kind donors who gave furniture can be found in a document available to borrow from Reception.

Public Rooms (OC Tanner Building)

  • The Tanner Room
    Professor Obert C. Tanner was an Honorary Fellow of Linacre College.
  • The Nadel Room
    Dr Benjamin Nadel, Old Member (1962), was a lawyer in the US.
  • The Carolyn Tanner Irish Room
    The Rt Rev'd Carolyn Tanner Irish is an Old Member (1964) and Honorary Fellow of Linacre College. She is also the daughter of Professor Obert Tanner.

Student Rooms (Abraham Building)

  • The Japan Rooms (in the Abraham Building)
    Named for the Japanese Linacre Society, which in 1995 made a handsome donation for the Abraham Building.

Student Rooms (Griffiths Building)

  • The E P Abraham Floor
    A grant from the E P Abraham Cephalosporin Trust supported the construction of the building.
  • The Wolfson Rooms
    A Wolfson Foundation grant supported the construction of the building.
  • The Bryan Cartledge and Freda Newcombe Room
    Linacre Principal, 1988 - 1996, and his late wife, who was a College Fellow.
  • The Bob Hiorns Room
    Dr Robert W Hiorns was a former Vice-Principal of the College, Fellow & University Lecturer in Statistics.
  • The Tom Halsall Room
    Dr Thomas Halsall was an Emeritus Fellow, and formerly Finance Bursar.

Student Rooms (Peter Holloway House)

  • The Wolfson Room
    A Wolfson Foundation grant made in 2002 enabled some renovation work on this house.


  • The Jaki Leverson Quad
    Named in memory of Jaki Leverson, a Linacre Old Member (1969), thanks to a generous legacy gift from her estate.    
  • The Tanner Fountain
    Named for Professor Obert Tanner, Honorary Fellow of Linacre.  
  • The William Waldren Window
    Dr Waldren was an Old Member (1975); the window was named thanks to a gift from his estate.

Computer Workstations in College Library

  • Professor Morton Weber
    Professor Weber was an Old Member (1970). The gift was made by his wife, Judge Phyllis Weber, in 2000.
  • Hitachi Chemical Europe
    Friends of Linacre.
  • Leila Lenihan-Dawood
    Daughter of two Old Members. Gift made in 2002.

Dining Hall Chairs

All of our Dining Hall chairs have been named for College members, or for Friends.   Additionally, all the chairs in our Small Dining Room, and in the Small Reading Room in the Library, have also been named.