Every year, the New Year’s Honours list honours the achievement and contributions of exceptional people from across the United Kingdom. We are thrilled to announce that two Linacre Fellows were included in this New Year’s honours list: Professor Sir Paul Nurse and Professor Myles Allen.

Professor Sir Paul Nurse has been an Honorary Fellow of Linacre College since 2009. He is currently the Director of the Francis Crick Institute in London. He was made a member of the Order of the Companions of Honour. The Companion of Honour is a special award of which there are 65 at any given time, awarded to those who made a ”major contribution to the arts, science, medicine, or government lasting over a long period of time”. Sir Paul has been recognised for his “major and sustained contributions to science, society and medicine in the UK and internationally, as a geneticist and cell biologist. His contributions to cell biology and cancer research were recognised with a knighthood in 1999. In 2001, he was jointly awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for the discovery of cell cycle regulatory molecules. His previous scientific leadership roles include President of the Royal Society, CEO of Cancer Research UK, and President of Rockefeller University in New York. He also served for 15 years on the Council of Science and Technology, advising the Prime Minister and Cabinet.”  – The Francis Crick Institute

Professor Myles Allen has been a Governing Body Fellow of Linacre since 2011. He is a Professor of Geosystem Science in the Environmental Change Institute, School of Geography and the Environment. He has been appointed CBE for ”services to climate change attribution, prediction and Net Zero.”

We would like to offer our congratulations to Paul and Myles from the entire Linacre community.