Linacre Rowers

Wednesday 29th March 2017

Congratulations are in order for two Linacre rowers this week.

On Sunday 26th March, Hannah Patel (DPhil, System Approaches in Biomdedical Science) rowed in the bow seat of the Oxford University Womens Lightweight Rowing Club Blue Boat at Henley. Unfortunately the Dark Blues lost to Cambridge by three lengths but a great day was had by all spectators.

Linacre Dinner in Hong Kong on 23 March 2017

Linacre Dinners in Far East

Wednesday 29th March 2017

The Principal and Development Director have just returned from a visit to the Far East, held in conjunction with University events. Highlights of the trip were two dinners with Linacre Old Members--at the Hong Kong Club on March 23rd with 19 attendees, and at the Swiss Club in Singapore on March 24th with 24 present. They enjoyed seeing Linacre Old Members at these and other events and meetings, and thank all who attended and who made arrangements possible.


The Erstwhile

Tuesday 28th March 2017

Professor Brian Catling, Linacre Fellow and Head of the Ruskin School of Art, has recently published the second novel in his trilogy series. 

Welfare and Crisis Logo

Linacre pursues equality

Tuesday 31st January 2017

Each year, public bodies must publish their progress towards their Public Sector Equality Duty aims.  Linacre made great strides in 2016 – see a summary of our progress here.

5* Rating for Kitchen Team

Wednesday 18th January 2017

The Oxford City Council Environmental Health Team recently visited the Linacre kitchen and following an inspection have awarded us with a 5* “Scores on the Doors” rating.

Many congratulations goes to Head Chef Michael and the whole catering team for maintaining such a very high standard, and for providing quality food for the College community. The latest issue of Linacre News focused on food links to College; you can still read it online here

Dr Shadreck Chirikure

ACU Visiting Fellowship & Lecture

Friday 6th January 2017

We are pleased to annouce that Dr Shadreck Chirikure is the recipient of this year's ACU Visiting Fellowship at Linacre College.

Dr Chirikure will join us from the Department of Archaeology at the University of Cape Town, where he is an Associate Professor. 

Satsuki Eda receives Grand Cordon of the Order of the Paulownia Flowers_Photo credit Kyodo News

Satsuki Eda Honoured

Monday 19th December 2016

Warmest congratulations to Satsuki Eda (1969), Linacre Honorary Fellow and former President of Japan’s House of Councillors, who has been awarded the Grand Cordon of the Order of the Paulownia Flowers. He is pictured receiving the decoration from His Majesty the Emperor in a ceremony at the Imperial Palace on 8 November 2016. (Photo © Kyodo News)

Margaret Gowing

Margaret Gowing Symposium

Monday 12th December 2016

Margaret Gowing (1921-1998), a former Linacre Fellow, and the first person to be appointed, in 1972, to the newly-created Chair in the History of Science at Oxford University, was remembered in a symposium at the LSE on December 5th. Distinguished guests included Dr Robert Fox, Linacre Emeritus Fellow, who also held the History of Science chair at Oxford. Among her achievements, Margaret Gowing wrote the ground-breaking official history of Britain and atomic energy. Her enduring personal and academic legacy was remembered and celebrated in the day-long event.

Roger Irwin

Linacre Huntington Exchange Fellowship

Tuesday 8th November 2016

Linacre student, Roger Irwin, has just returned from a Leeds Hoban Huntington Exchange Fellowship. Researching Evelyn Waugh’s letters, journals and manuscripts held at the Huntington Library, California, Roger accessed many primary resources for his DPhil thesis on the politics of Waugh’s writing and, in particular, on his war novels and travel writing.

This Exchange Fellowship, which lasts one month, is made possible by the generosity of Old Member, Lydia Leeds Hoban (1971) and Patrick Hoban.

Professor Robert Fox

Emeritus Fellow honoured with Koyré Medal

Friday 4th November 2016

Emeritus Fellow Professor Robert Fox was recently presented with the Alexandre Koyré medal for 2016.

The Alexandre Koyré medal is the highest award of the International Academy of the History of Science. Normally awarded every two years, it honours the recipient’s career contribution.

The presentation took place on 23 September 2016 in a ceremony during the biannual meeting of the European Society for the History of Science in Prague. Professor Fox was the Founding President between 2003 and 2006.